Home > General > My Career

My Career

My name is Amber and I am a blog stalker.  Last summer, out of desperation for change, I discovered edublogging.  My students and I are greatful to all of you out there that revolutionzed my teaching.  I have learned more in the last year of reading blogs then in any professional development seminar.  I made some radical changes in my classroom and others took notice.  I hope to contribute to the growing online community and help fellow teachers.  For the first time in a long time, I am excited to be a teacher.  I no longer view teaching as a job or a stepping stone but as a legitimate, respectable career.  I am proud to teach and I love it more everyday. 

Some of the changes that found their way into my classroom this year include standards based grading, a no (or limited) homework policy,  WCYDWT, and show and tell.  Instead of dreading math class, my students started coming into my room before school and during lunch to hang out and get help.  I don’t claim to have all of the answers because most of my changes were borrowed from the great bloggers listed in my blogroll.    I hope to contribute in some way to the amazing community and not just stalk in the shadows or comment sections anymore.

Categories: General Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

