Home > Uncategorized > Summer Goals

Summer Goals

Every teacher has summer goals.  I am no different.  I have a stack of novels that I collect through the school year and I’m ready to dust them off and dive in.  I have another stack of professional books that collect on the corner of my desk at school.  I’m at least 20 pages into each one of them.  Isn’t that what summer is for?  My main goals this summer include:

  • Start a blog (Yeah!  This is completed thanks to Riley Lark’s throw down challenge.)
  • Get readers for my blog (Once again, I’m looking to Riley to help me out with the Virtual Conference.)
  • Rewrite Algebra II curriculum to align to new state standards (TN may have gotten the Race to the Top funds but there are definitely strings attached including a new, killer End of Course test that no one has seen yet.)
  • Develop PreCalculus curriculum (This fall will be my first attempt.  I’m terrified and excited!)
  • Develop inservice training for my department and county (One of the blessings of being department chair…)
  • Oh yeah…Vacation.  (Teachers get the entire summer off.  Right?)
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 10, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Welcome to blogging. I read your article on remediation after assessment and I really like the idea. I’m struggling (too strong of a word, but can’t think of the right word) to conform my class to an SBG system.

    Thanks!

    • July 11, 2010 at 10:11 pm

      Thank you and thanks for the compliment. I really struggled last summer trying to get my ducks in a row to do SBG and finally made the plunge. I love it so much and haven’t looked back. Good luck! There is a lot of great resources in the blogrolls on the side that I based my model on. You have to make it your own and adopt a style of SBG that works for you. Mine is most like Kate Nowak’s method. I’m now trying to get the rest of my math department on board.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

