Home > Algebra 1, Algebra 2, PreCalculus > I Missed It

I Missed It

Now that summer is coming to a close for me, I am trying to get organized for school.  I find the most amazing lessons on the web from my fellow bloggers and I want to incorporate them into my class.  The problem is I often can’t find the lessons when it’s time to teach that topic.  I use delicious, but searching through the tags doesn’t seem to work for me.  I need one page where all of my standards are aligned to my text and End of Course practice along with activities; so I created one.

Under the curriculum tab at the top of this page, I’ve linked my Google Docs spreadsheet with all three classes I will be teaching first semester.  I am trying to hyperlink activities as I find them so I won’t have to search later for them or discover after the lesson that I missed it.  I hope it works!

Algebra I

Algebra II

PreCalculus

  1. July 29, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    This is like Sam’s virtual filing cabinet but on steroids. OK maybe not steroids. Caffeine, though. Definitely caffeine. I still just try to use Delicious, myself. (Poorly.) I’m afraid if I make a whole new document for it, I’ll put a ton of work into it, and then never remember to check it.

    • July 29, 2010 at 2:49 pm

      I also use and love Sam’s virtual filing cabinet. I think I linked it to several of my topics in the spreadsheet. I’m trying not to reinvent the wheel, just organize it. Type A personality…

  2. July 29, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    I’ve started using diigo for bookmarking pages with tags, and highlight specific text from some pages and stick stickies on other pages. We’ll see how it works once school starts. I also print out tons of stuff, but school is okay with that.

    • July 29, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      I’ve never used diigo, but am willing to give it a try. I like that you can highlight text so I don’t have to go through an entire site looking for what I need. Thanks for the suggestion.

  3. July 29, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    WoW … I Like! I guess this is a task au difficult and really like the the use of Google Docs here … so if for example .. I might want to piggy back on all your hard work … it would be so easy just to take it all in – not so easy with a webpage + one could edit them to their taste preferences. Very clever idea indeed!

    I just STARTED using Google Reader … imagine it took this long … then again I just started using Digg too. Anywho … I am finding it really super fantastic to use TAGS of posts of goodness. Well … poor tagging … I tagged a post yesterday with “Lesson Plan Idea”, but maybe I could have added a more specific tag such as “Multiplication Algorithms”. But this is only good for things coming across the reader 😦

    I hope all this works too … I will

    • July 29, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      Don’t you love Google Reader. It saves me so much time!

  4. July 29, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    I was just checking out some of your precalc links and found myself on my box.net precalc files. Funny! Glad I can help you out, because I’ll definitely be seeing what else you have on there. 🙂

    • July 30, 2010 at 12:22 am

      I love your files that you have. This is my first year teaching PreCalc so I feel like I’m starting from scratch. Thanks for making your files available. They are a great time saver.

  5. July 30, 2010 at 3:03 am

    You know what’s funny is that I had the same problem that you did: bookmarking on Delicious and then forgetting about the lesson until after the fact. I also made a spreadsheet, but mine are just listed by topic and the grade I am might use it for. Here’s what I came up with: http://bit.ly/duG4TN. It probably won’t be much help to you because it’s middle school, but I thought I’d share.

    • July 30, 2010 at 12:58 pm

      This is very helpful. Thanks. I teach a remedial Algebra I class and can always use this type of material. I also am teaching a seminar next week to middle school teachers and they will love it! I’ll be sure to give you credit. Thanks so much.

  6. August 2, 2010 at 2:06 am

    I love this idea. I’m interested to hear how this works for you and if it changes as you go through the year.

  1. January 7, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Leave a Reply

