Home > General > The Advantages of Blogs

The Advantages of Blogs

I taught a seminar on incorporating Algebra into the 6 – 10th grade curriculum today.  The session took a turn when I mentioned where I get all of my resources.  At the end of my prezi I give credit to some great bloggers.  I feel like my teaching has gone to the next level because of people like Dan, Kate, and Shawn.  (There are too many to mention.  Sorry if you got left out.)  These teachers, who I have never met challenge me to be great.  They inspire me and provide me with useful and relevant curriculum. 

My focus in my session was the actual math but quickly morphed into a session on edublogging.  Most of the math teachers had never heard of blogs or even knew they existed.  I heard stories of the frustrations of searching google blindly for lessons and finding inadequate material.  I really believe that good blogs are the solution for this.  I hope I can contribute a small fraction with this blog.  I shamelessly promoted my own blog but encouraged them to use it as a springboard to find other blogs.  My hope is that these teachers take their professional development into their own hands.

After arriving home on a presenting high, I told my husband that I am so blessed to teach in such an excellent school system with such open-minded teachers.  (I promise I’m not kissing up to any administrators that may stumble upon this.)  I have taught at schools in the past where you followed the textbook, closed your door, and made your students work silently from beginning bell to the end bell.  New ideas were never shared or talked about.  Planning centers or break rooms were only a chance to gripe.  This is not the case at my school.  Every teacher I spoke with today was excited about the prospect of blogging and anxious to find new material. 

So, to my fellow bloggers, get ready.  The masses are coming.  They will find the online blogging community.  They will discover how awesome it is to share ideas and learn from others. 

Now, if I can just convince them that it is cool to tweet about math.

Categories: General Tags:
  1. August 4, 2010 at 12:58 am

    I’ve loved all the blogs I’ve found this summer. I found them all via my coworker, Marty, except they are all math teacher blogs since he is a math teacher. I’ve looked for science edublogs, just not found any yet. I enjoy your blog, too. Thanks!

  2. August 4, 2010 at 2:57 am

    Glad to hear your colleagues were so interested. I’ll be giving a session at my district’s secondary math PD in a couple weeks about blogging specifically. I’m thinking it will be new info for most there as well. Curious, did you find they were knowledgeable about blogs in general (RSS, commenting, etc) and just didn’t know there were math teachers blogging? I’m not sure where to focus most of my presentation, because I don’t know where they’ll be coming from.

    • August 4, 2010 at 11:08 am

      @Stacy The teachers in my district were not knowledgeable about blogs. You need to cover RSS (I talked about google reader). This helped them from getting overwhelmed. I told them to find a good blog and then look at the blog roll on the side and that would point them to other blogs. I told them this could snowball if they let it, so a RSS is a good idea. Good luck with the presentation.

  3. webmaths
    September 5, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Hi Amber,
    I have just discovered your excellent blog! Thank you for your great contributions to the online Maths community. I totally agree with the opinions you put forward in this post. I am presenting at our state Mathematics association conference at the end of the year. My presentation is titled “To Blog or Not to Blog”. The answer is obvious to those that blog and use an rss reader to gather resources, etc. I look forward to reading more excellent posts from you.
    Kind regards, Jeff Trevaskis (webmaths blog)

    • September 6, 2010 at 1:49 am

      @Jeff Thanks so much for your kind comments. I love blogging. I really feel like reading other blogs and writing my own helps me to become a better teacher. Good luck on your presentation. I did a small scale presentation on blogs and the teachers were very receptive. Several of them had no idea anything like it existed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

