Home > Algebra 1 > MangaHigh

MangaHigh

I normally am not in favor of promoting paid services on my site, but I found one well worth it.  (The free version is great too.) I am teaching an Algebra I co-taught class this year.  I am struggling with keeping the students engaged and interested in math that is often too difficult for them.  I also am working with a level of students whose basic math skills are lacking.  I needed a resource to motivate my students and work on skills while pushing my students towards mastery of the Algebra 1 standards and the End of Course test…enter Mangahigh.



Mangahigh - Online Learning games

I stumbled upon the website www.mangahigh.com.  It is free!  There is a paid level subscription that my school graciously decided to purchase, but the free version works great too.  The website includes the best online math games I have seen in a while.  I have to admit that I spent 15 minutes playing “Save our Dumb Planet” and “Flower Power”.  The games are fun and teach relevant skills.  My favorite part is that the games and lessons adapt to each individual player.  If a student continues to answer questions correctly, the level of difficulty increases and if not, then it will decrease.



Mangahigh - Online Learning games

As a teacher, I can assign different lessons and goals for each one of my students.  The students compete against each other but also as a group against other schools.  I brought the mobile lab into my classroom last week and introduced my students to the website.  Each student went through two different lessons multiple times until they each earned a bronze medal.  I would hear things like, “I’m only 10 points behind you.  I’m going to do the lesson again so I can be in first.”  (I love healthy competition.) 

The students played the games when they finished the lessons.  I watched students ordering decimals and fractions who previously had little motivation to do so.  We spent 90 minutes on Mangahigh that day and the students never tried to leave the site to search the internet or go to inappropriate sites.  They were on task the entire time.  Here is the magic:  I logged in to check their stats today and more than half of my class (these are Algebra 1 repeaters) logged into Mangahigh at home or in the library to play the games and try the lessons again on their own time.  Math on their own time…Crazy!

Categories: Algebra 1
  1. August 23, 2010 at 3:22 am

    That sounds like a great resource. Games work great! Thanks for passing along your experience.

  2. Stephen
    August 23, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    “I logged in to check their stats today . . .”

    Do you have this teacher view with the free version, or is it only for the pay version?

    Thanks for sharing this!

    • August 23, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      You have a teacher view with the free version as well. It is not as friendly looking at graphs for individual students, but you can still manage it. The payed version really gives you access to more lessons. I used the free version for a few weeks and loved it.

  3. James
    March 5, 2011 at 12:09 am

    Hi Amber,

    Please consider the following as another option, free and paid versions are available too:

    You get:

    Playing with Challenging +, -, x, ÷ Questions
    –2 players game for family and team bonding(parent, child, classmate, friend etc.).
    –Single player, competes with 3 speeds(slow, mid, fast) built-in game robot.
    –Levels(1, 2, 3, 4) for aged 4 to 12 and above.
    –Result Analysis

    Practicing with Intuitive +, -, x, ÷ Flash Cards by Repetition & Memory Spacing learning techniques
    –Time Interval for self-paced learning pattern

    No distracting graphics, a direct, simple and clear math game.

    *****************************************************************
    SURPRISE YOURSELF IN DAYS ON YOUR MATH
    ACCURATE CALCULATION AND FAST RESPONSE TIME
    and share the benefits and values with Your Family and Friends.
    *****************************************************************

    Get one for yourself/your family now !

    1 Math Game with limited features(FREE)
    http://itunes.apple.com/sg/app/1-math-game-parent-child/id397089761?mt=8

    Never-Ever-High-Value 1 Math Game(US$0.99)
    http://itunes.apple.com/sg/app/1-math-game/id396345724?mt=8

    If above links are not accessible, type “Skybase Story 1 Math Game” in search box.

    Please let me know if you need more details.

    Thanks for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

