Home > General > Extra Curricular

Extra Curricular

I help to lead the Fellowship of Christian Athletes at my high school.  Today I took a group of 11 students to a leadership training seminar.  There were 35 schools represented at the event.  It was nice to have the opportunity to interact with students outside the walls of the school.  If you are a teacher and you don’t work with students in some capacity outside the classroom, I encourage you to do it.

Before I had children of my own I coached girls’ soccer.  I always thought that teachers didn’t get paid enough, but coaches get the short end of the stick.  I think my pay averaged out to less than 25 cents per hour.  I didn’t do it for the money (do any of us) and I didn’t do it for the recognition (we weren’t very good).  I did it for the fellowship with my students.  I wanted to interact with the girls outside of the classroom.  I wanted to talk to them about something other than math.  (Yes, there is a world beyond math.)  Since my own children have come along, I have no time to coach.

I volunteered for FCA four years ago.  Just about the time of the year I get busy with department chair responsibilities or retesting and tutoring schedules I consider dropping FCA.  I need this post to remind me:  DON”T DROP IT!  It is important for us as teachers to be involved with the student body beyond our classrooms.  It can be the Beta Club, National Honors Society, Mu Alpha Theta (Math Club), Chess Club, Model UN, Mock Trial……  just be involved.  The students know when you have a vested interest in them beyond the classroom.  It’s also amazing what they will tell you outside the school walls.  Some of them just need someone to listen while not sitting behind a desk.

I think sometimes as teachers we forget that some teens are just amazing (especially if you don’t teach honor classes).  They have vision, drive, passion and commitment.  It is important to take a step back and allow the students to lead.  I am blessed to have the chance to work with such an amazing group of students.

Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

