Home > Algebra 2, PreCalculus > The State of Regression

The State of Regression

I have an idea for a collaboration project in the works and if I ever get free time (insert laughter) I will type it up all nice and pretty and share it.  For now, I thought I would share the idea and see if anyone already has something similar.  (No reason to reinvent the wheel.)

It all started with a Google search on regression models for the US population.

My Algebra II Honors class is teaming up with the Government class to do a joint project.  I was doing some research and was slightly shocked to discover that the population of the United States fits a quadratic model and not an exponential model.  (Gasp!)  I always thought it was exponential since the world population model is exponential.  I discussed this with the Government teacher and she was also intrigued.  We decided to team up.  Her students are going to gather census data for us for each state.  She will assign each student a different state or pair of states.  My Algebra II students will perform regression analysis using LoggerPro.  Each group will also perform a regression for the US. 

I am curious to see if each State follows the National model or if some states are exponential.  The bigger question is why.  This sparked a discussion in the teacher lunchroom yesterday.  (I love working with smart, passionate people.)  We shared ideas like family planning, birth control, and abortion.  This led to us asking if other industrialized Nations also follow a quadratic model or if it is just the US.  I mentioned the idea to my Pre Calculus class and one student volunteered to check England and another Spain.  They want to test the birth control hypothesis using a Catholic Nation.

After my Algebra II class finishes the regression and creates equations, the Government class is going to make predictions and use the information to determine the effects of the population change on the Government and society.  I am really excited about what this project could become.  I love it when students buy into the idea as well.  I’m hoping to inspire them to find their own questions.

Categories: Algebra 2, PreCalculus
  1. September 17, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    That sounds really neat! I may snag this idea for my Statistics kids to do some work with later on. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Betsy Gilbert
    September 24, 2010 at 2:14 am

    I wish I had read this last week. We have been studying regression in Pre-Cal and I wanted to do something similar. I even went to one of the government teachers and asked it she had any data that we could possily use to find a model. She said she would get back to me and that was the end of that so I just took my students to the library and had them do some research to find data that they could model using either linear regression or quadratic regression. It went well but I really wanted to colaborate but I just couldn’t come up with the data. I definitely plan to steal your idea next year or next semester!

    Thanks,

    Betsy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

