Home > General > Textbook Review

Textbook Review

This is adoption year for new textbooks for math in the State of Tennessee.  Yes, that’s right, the entire state of TN adopts new math textbooks at the same time.  The textbook companies host dinner parties and show off the new books.  I attended my first dinner last week.  I was really impressed with what I saw.  The company offered online versions that are completely interactive.  I also won the TI Navigator software as a door prize.  Not a bad night.

I am serving on the textbook committee for my school system.  It is an honor and stressful at the same time.  I spent my planning period the other day meeting with another textbook company.  Not as impressed, but still good things. 

It is nice to see the textbook companies aligning the textbooks to the new national standards.  I see this as being a great thing for the blogging community.  It will be nice sharing resources and knowing that we all are held to the same standards.  I’m wondering how long we have until we have a national standardized test.  This does scare me, but for reasons I can’t put my finger on yet.  I know this will be a huge issue in years to come.

Fo now, I’m looking for a book that is user friendly for the kids and me.  Right now, I don’t use the textbook at all, and it is a ton of work.  I want an interactive, webbased resource that I can use on my smartboard.  I want the ability to sort test questions by standards or topics so I can create assessments and retests for SBG.  I want a text without pseudocontext

I’m putting a request out there for all my fellow bloggers and blog stalkers.  If you use a textbook that you love, please let me know.  You can add your suggestions to the comments.  Please let me know why you love it.

Categories: General
  1. October 9, 2010 at 12:39 am

    I’m not teaching K-12, so I can’t tell you about books I have used in the classroom. I can tell you about books my son learned from that were good:

    Singapore primary math series (the original one, not the Americanized one)
    Art of Problem-Solving “Introduction to Algebra” by Richard Rusczyk
    Art of Problem-Solving “Introduction to Geometry” by Richard Rusczyk
    Algebra and Trigonometry: Functions and Applications (Classic Edition) by Paul Foerster

    And one that was terrible:
    Keypress “Key to Algebra”

    The books we liked don’t have the flash and dazzle that you seem to be looking for, but the math is very well presented, and they don’t have the low ceiling of many of the major publishers.

  2. October 9, 2010 at 5:15 am

    This is all second hand because well, I’m not a math teacher.
    I think Riley has mentioned he likes CPM – College Preparatory Math and I know a few have really raved about IMP – http://www.keypress.com/x5436.xml

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

