Home > Geometry > First Day Geometry

First Day Geometry

Like most teachers, I struggle with what to do on the first day of class.  This year in my Geometry classes, I started with ‘Me by the Numbers’.  It worked well and the students seemed to like it, but even this activity only takes 15 minutes of my 90 minute class.  I decided to try something new.  I broke the  students into groups of 2 or 3.  I gave each group a net for a cube.  I masked each group to design a cube.  They had access to colored pencils, scissors, and tape.  Some cubes were basic and others were quite ornate. 

When all the groups were finished, I collected the cubes.  I then redistributed the cubes to different groups.  Each group now had a cube that they did not design.  I handed out another blank net and asked them to copy the cube that was given to them.  Some groups had a more difficult time than others depending on the complexity of the cube assigned to them.  The students had a good time and it gave me a chance to walk around the room and get to know them.  My goal with this activity was to get my students to realize that taking a 3 dimensional object and trying to reconstruct it using a 2 dimensional template is difficult.  Some students really excel at this and others really struggle.  I feel like Geometry is often the math for those students who aren’t as good at solving equations.  I wanted to take the fear of math and the unknown away as we started Geometry.

Categories: Geometry
  1. Fluxion Fred
    January 9, 2011 at 5:54 am

    This is great. I had some luck one year with a silent, teacher-led simple origami exercise for the first ten minutes. (Six folds, ten minutes. Paper folding while silently converting left and right.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

