Home > Uncategorized > Why A High School Diploma

Why A High School Diploma

I was working in the kitchen the other night while my children watched tv in the living room.  They were watching one of their favorite shows, The Regular Show.  For those of you who don’t have children or don’t watch cartoons, it is one of the funniest and somewhat inappropriate cartoons on tv.  Not inappropriate in the sense that it cusses or shows body parts, but inappropriate in the sense that it is full of sarcasm.  (Yes, I am raising my kids with sarcasm.  Studies show that “processing irony requires a complex network of brain processing.”  I want to develop this in my children.  Oh yeah, and I’m from the North.)

I was listening to “The Regular Show” in the background and heard a random math problem.  Of course, I had to go watch the show.  The entire episode was on the importance of a high school diploma.  I’ve decided to show this clip in my classroom sometime just for fun.  Who knows, I may even assign the math problem as a challenge problem (the one about the turtles, not the hardest math problem ever).

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 21, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    very interesting. I hope you have a great first day of school and thinks for sharing.

  2. August 22, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I love showing videos to the class and then asking them questions on solving the problems. I did that several times as part of a quiz or a warm-up and I think it was a nice break to get to watch a funny video or interesting news clip.

    I subscribed to your blog the other day and would love for you to check mine out! I am hosting a giveaway this week to TeachersPayTeachers so you should stop by to enter. Have a great day!

    http://lilmoptop.blogspot.com/2011/08/teaching-thursdays-kick-off-giveaway.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

