Home > Uncategorized > A Call to Teachers

A Call to Teachers

I recently read this article on the Washington Post’s website.  It is about a school board member who took the standardized state tests required by most public schools.  The timing was perfect for me.  I read the article on the same day I administered the Algebra 1 and Algebra 2 End of Course tests to my students.  My students worked so hard this semester and learned so much and it saddens me that it is all culminates with a 65 question multiple choice test. 

I woke up this morning and was reading my Twitter feed and was so excited to see that several teachers across the nation have started a grassroots movement.  They are asking that all teachers tweet, call, or email their Governor, asking him or her to take their states standardized test and publish the results.  If you are from Tennessee, here is Governor Haslam’s twitter name:  @BillHaslam.  I will be sending him a very respectful tweet, providing him with a link to this article, and asking him to take our Algebra 2 EOC and publish the results.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

